73 replies to this topic

#1 GraemeC

GraemeC

Crazy About Mini's

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,315 posts

Posted 21 June 2006 - 02:43 PM

I thought it was about time I told you guys what I'm up to with my latest project as a few of you have now supplied parts in various forms! Apologies if there are a few spelling and typing mistakes in here but having snapped a tendon in a finger I'm having to wear a splint and it keeps getting in the way. :'(

This isn't a new project so this post is a catch-up from its start on March 20th up to where I left it last night. Aim is to have it complete and ready for the local motor club's car show on 16th July (www.klmc.org.uk) - going to have to get my (knackered) finger out!

I've been autotesting for about 4 years now on and off and the old stead is getting past its best. The seat had to be mounted on bars between inner sill and exhaust tunnel as the floor wasn't stong enough, the roof gives a little more everytime you touch it and as for outer sills, boot floor, valance etc - well they say less is more?! I went to a fibreglass front as the removable steel one fell apart - although GuessWorks now has the bonnet as that was in suprisingly good nick! :D
Anyway, some pics of the old GT...
Ready for the off:
Posted Image

Couple of scenic ones:
Posted Image
Posted Image

And 'in action' in 2005:
Posted Image

I secured a new car (well rolling shell) from WebMonkey on Minifinity for a very reasonable £150 back in August last year I decided in March that 2006 was the year I'd take the NW autotesting scene by storm - lets see them mock this one for looking like I'd just dragged it from a hedge :( (although they had a point - but mechanically it was spot on).
So pics of the starting point...
Posted ImagePosted Image

Didn't look too bad for the money (there were also two perfect doors and some adjustable suspension bits). Although on closer inspection there was a little work needed:
Posted ImagePosted Image