21 replies to this topic

#1 eagleswings

eagleswings

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 October 2009 - 10:00 PM

I am a driving instructor and bought a new Cooper D in September 2008, the car had successfully completed 25K+ and has been serviced under a TLC package. This afternoon whist being driven at 50 down a dual carriageway the warning light 'Diesel particle filter malfunctioning' came on. Just a yellow light usually indicating that a problem has occurred that will need dealt with soon. The manual says - 'Continue your journey... use next opportunity to drive faster than 38mph for 5 mins.. ' the light went out after travelling about half a mile, but then I had to stop at traffic lights, at which point I noticed smoke coming from the back - I believed it was coming from the exhaust. I took the car into a car park just off from the traffic lights and when I pulled up a passer by point to flames coming from underneath the offside front of the car. Initial only a very small fire but within seconds the car was well alight and was destroyed within minutes.

Has anyone come across this problem with the mini cooper D, it certainly is not something I expect of any car certainly not one so new. I am particularly concerned that there could be a fault with this type of car which could result in a far worst outcome. Fortunately no-one was harmed.

Attached Files

#2 zebidee

zebidee

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts

Posted 24 October 2009 - 10:07 PM

Thats pretty alarming!!

I know quite a few people have new MINIs on this forum, though the chaps over on www.MINI2.com may be of more use in this scenario.

I take it you weren't taking a lesson at the time!?

#3 Burnard

Burnard

4 gears good........... .......................5 gears Better

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,350 posts

Posted 24 October 2009 - 10:10 PM

Looks like you had a lucky escape. Glad your ok and no one was hurt.