Photo
- - - - -

Quick To Understeer Then Oversteer, Normal?

• Please log in to reply
128 replies to this topic

#1 al_reidy

al_reidy

Speeding Along Now

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Local Club: Geeks N Freaks

Posted 03 November 2009 - 05:56 PM

I have finally got my Type R zcars mini on the road! but its a massive handful!
if you drive it at a small roundabout and slow corners it feels like its on its tip toes, steer a little more then it grips and sends the back end out.

it might just be that there is bog all weight at the front and im a newbie with rear wheel drive cars but its very disconcerting.

im running 18psi front tyres and 20psi rears. 6 clicks on every shocker and zcars setup my suspension (nearly 2 years ago!). I have probably messed up the geometry though by taking the thing to bits 2 times since then for paint spraying etc.

its mentally quick in a straight line but wants to wander around the road a bit when you back off the throttle. (is that the limited slip diff?)

Can anyone help?

Cheers

AL

#2 Ade

Ade

the bogie man

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,357 posts

Posted 04 November 2009 - 10:50 PM

I have finally got my Type R zcars mini on the road! but its a massive handful!
if you drive it at a small roundabout and slow corners it feels like its on its tip toes, steer a little more then it grips and sends the back end out.

it might just be that there is bog all weight at the front and im a newbie with rear wheel drive cars but its very disconcerting.

im running 18psi front tyres and 20psi rears. 6 clicks on every shocker and zcars setup my suspension (nearly 2 years ago!). I have probably messed up the geometry though by taking the thing to bits 2 times since then for paint spraying etc.

its mentally quick in a straight line but wants to wander around the road a bit when you back off the throttle. (is that the limited slip diff?)

Can anyone help?

Cheers

AL