floss

On The Road

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Local Club: vmci

Posted 23 December 2009 - 10:45 PM

~~~~~Please delete this text before posting the topic~~~~~~
Please give your topic a title that quickly describes your problem. Just putting 'Help my Mini doesn't work' is useless to anyone trying to help.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Aussie clubman Van
1972 with a late model a plus 1275:
I have fuel and engine turns over but doesn't ignite and start. Spark is weak

Any non-standard parts that might be involved with the problem?
Was running a pulsar Dizzy but have changed it to a lucas with ecu to try to fix.

Hey everyone,
Fristly, apologies for posting questions on here. I haven't answered many on here ( usually on ausmini but its down now and im running out of idea's) so feel like the greedy kid who eats other peoples lunches.

I have been building my van for almost 2 years now and it is so close to drivable that i can taste it.

Some background
Starter motor was skipping so I pulled it out and went through it and found the problem. Put it back in and made the naff mistake of not seeing that the solenoid to startermotor wire ( a big bare copper one) was just grazing the dizzy. Turned the car over and the starter motor worked a dream... The downside was big arching sparks and smoke :)
After running around like a mad man i fixed this up and tried again. It ran ok. Turned it off and on again and it still fired. Finished up for the weekend.

Next weekend i tried it again and no go. Engine turns over, it has fuel, it had a tiny little spark on 1. Spoke to a mate who actually has a clue about electricals and we tested a few things. Used a testing light to test. We are getting the power to the coil, from coil to dizzy (don't know how much and will test this weekend). IT was getting sparks but tiny tiny ones. I could hold the leadsd in my hand and no pain. PReviously this made me do a funny dance when I held them.