8 replies to this topic

#1 LiamBendell

LiamBendell

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:19 PM

I just thought i would post about removing the clutch and using the right tools.

I have just removed mine and found there is not many topics which really help to explain it (with images). I am no mechanic, so exsuse me if i don't name everything right. But it was really easy to remove the clutch.

I had the engine out of the car so there is a lot more room to work on it. But if its still in the car you just got to work a bit harder.
So the engine is out and i have started to strip it down.

1. Get the engine somewhere easy to work on, as you need to put bit of force into it later.

Posted Image

2. You need to remove the Clutch housing. To do this first remove the bracket holding the clutch cylinder. The undo and remove all the bolts holding the clutch housing outside to the main housing. (Not the bolts holding it the the block).

So do it evenly so take two or three turns out of one bolt and then take that out the opposite and work your way around. Don't do bolts next to each other. As it under some pressure and will pop of just a little bit half way through undoing, so be careful. This is ok when it pops off but make sure there is some tread left in each bolt until this happens.

Posted Image

3. Then you should be left with it looking like this. Remove the little cap bit on the end of the Crankshaft.

Posted Image

Posted Image

4. Go and get a good clutch pulley tool. This is from Halfords, it worked a treat for me.

Posted Image

5. Then you need to block the clutch from spinning when you use the pulley tool. So i used a large chisel wrapped in loads of duck tape. I used the starter motor housing to hold it in place. However if your engine is in the car you may need to buy a tool to hold the clutch.

Posted Image

DO NOT DO THIS
Posted Image