Photo
- - - - -

Help On Planning A Kseries Conersion (Please)

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 AThompson

AThompson

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 10:14 PM

Hello
Im planning on getting a mini and converting it to a 1.8 turbo (rover 75) K Series and could do with some help clearing some things up.
(sorry im new,just joined)

I will be getting a donor car from the scrap yard so will be getting the engine,gearbox and wiring loom.
If i was to take the ECU out aswell would the scrap yard give me the key/fob with the car?
If not on ebay i can get,

1.8 TURBO ECU KIT TO INCLUDE

1 X ECU

1 X IMMOBILISER

1 X KEY FOB

1 X DRIVERS DOOR HANDLE

Wich is okay but how would i go about starting the car without a ignition barrel and no key?

sorry if i am being stuppidly silly :shy: but this is my first project,the electrics will hold me bk if i dnt get all advise now so trying to think ahead.
the mechanicall side shouldnt be a problem as my dad will be helping me but isnt great with the electrics,so going to try and get hold of a rave cd for when we get to the ecu wiring loom stage.

Thanks in advance.

#2 Mini-Mad-Craig

Mini-Mad-Craig

Crazy About Metro's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,298 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 10:26 PM

You'll need everything from the donor car and use your standard Mini key and ignition barrel. The ECU will be MEMS 3, you'll need get one WITH 5as, fobs and the ecu all from the same car to save yourself a fortune on reprogramming

Is there any reason you're using the Turbo K-series? it's a solid cam non vvc engine and puts out 150bhp at best, VVC's come as 160 or 143bhp standard and will fit under even a standard roundnose a lot easier than a turbo

Inbox me your email address, I'll send you a copy of RAVE

#3 giner88

giner88

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 914 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 10:28 PM