18 replies to this topic

#1 Ant@BackyardRacing

Ant@BackyardRacing

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:32 AM

hi all, first post noob here! i have just bought my 1st ever mini (and im 31, late starter!).
ive been lurking here for a while, reading and researching, and then ive been looking at a good few minis, sadly most of which was poor. bad repairs, cheap panels, awfull panel gaps, even looked at one which had been brush painted, and not even the same colour! and it was £2.5k so not cheap ones really.

anyway, after seeing so many "bodged" cars i decided i would try and buy an original car, (rather than my first thoughts of getting a ready to drive car) and then that way any repairs/restoration work i can make sure is done to a high standard, and with heratage panels, or good used originals.

anyway, here is what i bought....

http://www.ebay.co.u...&orig_cvip=true

its very original, never had paint, all original wings etc, original bumpers, even number plates, its better than the photos really, im was very pleased when i went to collect :)

anyway, now my questions, i was hoping to do a cooper, or cooper "S" replica, as im not sure i could live with an 850 auto! of course the logbook etc will always say 850 and not cooper, and will of course never be an original cooper or "S", and will never worth as much, i know that, and im not doing it to try and pass off as an original car, as 1, i have no plans to sell it! and 2, i have so much history and paperwork for the original car.

if i do a replica, will it be worth less than the 850 auto i started out with??

i.e are original 850`s sought after? (i wouldnt of thought so?) or will it add a small amount of value if i do the replica thing? maybe somewhere between an original cooper s and an original 850?

has anyone seen any done on here or seen any sell on ebay etc?

and lastly, i dont want to change the colour, do you know if the mk3 cooper "s" came in my colour?