Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Easiest Way To Wire Spot Lamps?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#16 Cooperman

Cooperman

    Uncle Cooperman, Voted Mr TMF 2011

  • Mini Docs
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,879 posts
  • Location: Cambs.
  • Local Club: MCR, HAMOC, Chelmsford M.C.

Posted 24 April 2013 - 02:56 PM

You just buy a 4-fuse blade-type fusebox from AES Ltd, 2 off Bosch relays, two toggle switches, 2 off 20 amp fuses, 2 off 12 amp fuses, a box of crimp on terminals and some cable.
The relay wiring diagram for the relays is as above and you just add a fuse into both the2 power feeds from the battery (i.e. from the starter solenoid live connection) and a fuse in the line to each pair of lights.
It really is a very simple job, just make sure you run the wires neatly and clip them back to the existing wiring loom. The fuse box can go on the front bulkhead in the engine compartment, fitted with 2 self-tapping screws.
A relay is simply an electrically triggered switch which won't burn out when carrying a high current. So the two toggle switches just take the signal current, from the main beam circuit for the spotlights and from the ignition 'live' side for the fog lights.

Edited by Cooperman, 24 April 2013 - 02:56 PM.


#17 willava182

willava182

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Location: Space

Posted 24 April 2013 - 06:31 PM

If i were to get a mini specialist garage to do it (its just down the road)
How much should i expect to get charged?

#18 Cooperman

Cooperman

    Uncle Cooperman, Voted Mr TMF 2011

  • Mini Docs
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,879 posts
  • Location: Cambs.
  • Local Club: MCR, HAMOC, Chelmsford M.C.

Posted 24 April 2013 - 06:52 PM

Assuming they charge £40per hour, to do it properly is about a 3-hour job, so £120 plus parts. Unless they are experts in vehicle wiring don't expect a really good job. I've had to correct some horrendous so-called professional vehicle wiring in the past.
It is so easy to do it properly yourself, why pay others. you only have to follow the instructions and the wiring diagram.

#19 willava182

willava182

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Location: Space

Posted 24 April 2013 - 06:54 PM

Ok... fu*k that, haha, ill just figure it out,
I total crap at wiring, but im sure ill get it in the end.

#20 Cooperman

Cooperman

    Uncle Cooperman, Voted Mr TMF 2011

  • Mini Docs
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,879 posts
  • Location: Cambs.
  • Local Club: MCR, HAMOC, Chelmsford M.C.

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:06 PM

Do you want me to do a detailed circuit diagram? If you do, PM me your private email address and I'll send it as an attachment.
You need to make a bracket to fit the two toggle switches. It helps to have a crimping tool for the crimp-on terminals and a multi-meter to check current feed.
Get the electrical bits from: www.autoelectricsupplies.co.uk
You could get the 6-fuse blade type fuse box, then you'll have 2 spare fuses in case you want to add anything else in the future.
The whole lot of parts should cost no more than £30 and, of course, labour is free.

#21 willava182

willava182

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Location: Space

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:17 PM

Do you want me to do a detailed circuit diagram? If you do, PM me your private email address and I'll send it as an attachment.
You need to make a bracket to fit the two toggle switches. It helps to have a crimping tool for the crimp-on terminals and a multi-meter to check current feed.
Get the electrical bits from: www.autoelectricsupplies.co.uk
You could get the 6-fuse blade type fuse box, then you'll have 2 spare fuses in case you want to add anything else in the future.
The whole lot of parts should cost no more than £30 and, of course, labour is free.


That would be just perfect :)

#22 iwatkins

iwatkins

    Speeding Along Now

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Location: Stroud

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:18 PM

Instead of two toggle switches, you could use a double pole double throw, single switch like this one: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/350750183600

It fits the auxiliary panel where your rear fog light switch is too. Neat.

Cheers

Ian

#23 willava182

willava182

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Location: Space

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:20 PM

Instead of two toggle switches, you could use a double pole double throw, single switch like this one: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/350750183600

It fits the auxiliary panel where your rear fog light switch is too. Neat.

Cheers

Ian


Thanks, does the light not need a led or a light saying its on?
I thought that was the law.
anyway, i thought i would get something like this, to fit in the dashboard im going to get.
http://www.ebay.co.u...=item416df1e096

#24 iwatkins

iwatkins

    Speeding Along Now

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Location: Stroud

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:25 PM

Yep, that would work too.

As the spots will be wired to only come on with full beam, you already have a telltale as the blue full beam warning light should come on on your standard gauges.

Cheers

Ian




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Mini Spares