334 replies to this topic

#1 thebullet

thebullet

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,337 posts

Posted 23 May 2013 - 08:34 PM

Basically, because I am a motorsport photographer i am always looking around for new equipment, this really good deal came up on a camera after putting an advert on gumtree. He phone and and after much talk I went for it, it all seemed legit and the bloke was lovely (even wanted to stay in contact and do future work) He gave me so much confidence. But I might have been scammed.

First off I was an idiot to Bank transfer the money too him, (we both use Halifax) but in return he gave an Invoice that explained everything, photos of the item and a screenshot of him booking delivery of which I got a tracking number that worked. 

He said he was going on holiday last Tuesday in this country and will have his phone on him so I could text him as much as I like... 

So I have been texting him, he took a while to reply, but he did and it kept giving me confidence, we had chats on the phone and he was saying all about the scams online and how it wasn't in his nature, he wasn't clever enough etc etc and I genuinely believed him. 

Today was the day the parcel was meant to be picked up from his house that he said his dad was going to be there. 

All the tracker has said all day was:

23/05/2013 Parcel due for collection on 23/05/2013 between 09:00 and 18:00

I messaged saying I was worried that it hadn't changed he said I have all the right to worry and that if anything did go wrong he would refund me my money anyway, again this gave me confidence seeing as though surely he wouldn't go through the time of giving me an invoice with his name etc on, bank details, even the bank company and booking a Courier where surely the tracking number leads to his address? 

I have tried to phone him and text the last couple of hours but no answer or reply, now I am sure he is just on holiday having a good time but I am worrying.