#1 nospamprl

nospamprl

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Local Club: Miniasociados Mexico

Posted 15 August 2013 - 06:47 AM

I've been driving for nearly 40 years under the understanding that keeping the clutch pedal depressed is harmful for the clutch (like when in heavy traffic, I switch to neutral whenever I estimate the car will be stopped for more than 3-5 seconds).

Am I right or is it just an inherited behaviour? Sometimes it may be easier to just keep 1st engaged and the pedal depressed that switching from 1st to neutral back and forth.

Thanks.

#2 A-Cell

A-Cell

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,610 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:24 AM

For me too that is good practice. And on a mini you are'nt loading and prematurely wearing the crank thrust washers!
The safety brigade would also say that it an idiot hits you up the back you are less likely to have your foot slip off the clutch and your car shoot forward into the car in front, or worse the pedestrians walking across in front of you.

#3 mini_mad_andy

mini_mad_andy

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:34 AM

Yep, I do the same. As A-Cell said it stops the wear on the thrust bearing, and also the clutch springs which is what tends to fail (become weak) and causes clutch slip.

#4 Old Bob

Old Bob

TMF Menber Passed On R.I,P

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 825 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:14 AM

No question that you are driving correctly - and I am sure your clutch lasts longer because of it.

Sometimes the old ways are best!

Bob

#5 jackmason

jackmason

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Local Club: Essex Mini Club

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:16 AM

I do the same!

#6 Guess-Works.com

Guess-Works.com

Gearbox Guru

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,838 posts
  • Local Club: Rugby Classic Mini Owners Club