#1 JackBeard

JackBeard

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 04 November 2013 - 05:27 PM

Hey guys/gals.

I'm still pretty new to the Mini world, so I thought I'd ask some experienced people to point me in the right direction.

My car's heater hasn't worked since I bought the car. There's no life in it whatsoever.

Seeing as winter is fast approaching, I just want to know where would be a good place to start checking?

Many thanks,

Jack

#2 Hrimfaxi

Hrimfaxi

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Local Club: LSMOC

Posted 04 November 2013 - 06:43 PM

First place i'd check, would be the fuse.

Haven't got my Haynes to hand, so couldn't tell you which number fuse it is though sorry.  

#3 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,885 posts
  • Name: Neil

Posted 04 November 2013 - 07:02 PM

Switch or the fuse are common failure points so check these out first. Also it could be an earth problem as well.

#4 AVV IT

AVV IT

I am a shed dragger.

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,122 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Local Club: Nobody will have me!!

Posted 04 November 2013 - 11:00 PM

Does it not produce heat, or not blow air? as these are too separate problems. The classic mini heater circulates hot coolant from the engine through a small radiator inside the heater called a matrix to produce the heat, a separate fan/blower then pushes air through the matrix to force the warmth of the heater and into the car. Unless there is a problem with both systems, then the heater will produce heat even if the fan/blower isn't working and the fan will blow cold air, even if there is a problem with the heater circuit.