Photo

First Time Owner - Unsure What To Do With Rust (Pictures)

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Pseudonym

Pseudonym

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 02:21 PM

Hello TMF,

I've been driving my British Open Classic for a few months now, it is my first car, and I started getting into changing things on it (as you do). At one point I removed my black OEM special wheel arches and door sill rubber moulding to change them to newer, nicer arches - but what I found under my nearside door sill rubber moulding has left me worried a bit. There is some rust, a worrying amount, and I do not know what is the process for treating rust, but I do want to resolve this. What is the normal course of action for this amount of rust? I have never worked on cars before this, but I am very keen to learn. I have included links to the rest of my imgur albums which highlight spots of rust throughout other areas of the car, though the other rust doesn't appear to be as serious as the door sill rust.

overall view of nearside door sill rust:

0MRiioN.jpg

another overall view of the nearside door sill rust with door shut:

ufKxVyO.jpg

close up of rust towards the front of the door sill:

5pbU9hm.jpg

close up of the rust towards the middle of the door sill:

OEuTPcW.jpg

another close up of the same spot, head on:

egXTqKK.jpg

a shot of the same spot from below, showing the underside of the car a bit:

lGUwBBK.jpg

a shot of a rust hole on the door sill, towards the end of where the door shuts:

5oIh2BN.jpg

So those are the pictures which show the rust on the nearside door sill, here are links to the rest of my imgur albums of the mini, as you can see this is the most serious place of rot that I've managed to find on this mini:

http://luissteuer.imgur.com/

Thanks for viewing! Please advise on what to do TMF!

#2 Ben_O

Ben_O

Mill Road Garage

• Paint Doctor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,781 posts