Photo

New To This Site- Advice Please On Serious Rust Issues And Where To Go For Repairs In North Wales

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 tomf2000

tomf2000
  • Noobies
  • 0 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 08:01 AM

Hello.

I'm new to this site

I'm just had my Mini Cooper 1.3 (1998) fail the MOT 'big-time' on serious corrosion to the subframe mounting points and other crucial areas.

The bodywody, however, is sound and looks really good

Sadly, I'm no mechanic or DIY man, so I've taken it to my local garage repairer, who also does limited welding but he states the job is too big for him, as it's an 'engine-out' job !

Can anyone please advise me where to go in North Wales for such subframe/structural welding and repairs.

Other than severe rusting, the car is in very good condition, with a guaranteed 39,000 on the clock, so very low milage. It is therefore worthy of repair if I can find the right person to undertake the work

Any advice would be most welcome as I really don't just want to stick it on E-bay and get rid of it.

The MOT expires on Friday 25th April. It is taxed. I'm not sure I can drive it anywhere after the MOT has expired, so prompt advice would be appreciated. I live in Harlech, Snowdonia, so a long way away from towns and cities.

I look forward to hearing from someone

Tom F

#2 RedRuby

RedRuby

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
  • Local Club: No

Posted 20 April 2014 - 09:13 AM

I am sure you can drive a unMOTed car to a pre-arranged appointment to a garage for repairs and to a pre-arranged MOT. Sadly can't help with local welding but someone on here will, may be wise if you get recommendations for a decent garage to pick one that will also do your MOT after the repairs will save taking it elsewhere and should ensure that they do the repairs to a good standard.

#3 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,884 posts
  • Name: Neil