#1 rodandtom

rodandtom

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 05:43 PM

Hi All,

I've been doing this mini now for about 3 years and it's still not finished. I am however making progress so I wanted to try and capture some of it.

So, as I've said it's a 1994 Red Sprite with a 1275cc engine that had done 47K when we bought it for £1,500.

I knew it needed some work but I didn't realise quite how much - but then how many of us have said that!

Here are a few photos of it to start with. I didn't take enough of it on the drive so these are shots of bits of it.

So this was June 2011. We started by taking out the seats and carpets and things didn't look too bad. We could see it had oversells fitted and there was a small patch of rust on one inner sill so that would need replacing but that was do-able and the front o/s floor panel would need some attention.

The engine was stripped down by myself and Tom, my son. At that point I realised that I don't have the skills to get the engine right so we shipped it off to ML Motorsports in Medway for a full rebuild. I am told most of the work is done on that but I put it in to mothballs while I tried to get the body in to a condition ready to take it.

We got it all stripped down, engine out, electrics off, loom out, ready to tackle any rust - and that's what I have been doing for 3 years on weekends and evenings.

I have been learning a lot with a lot of help from this forum (without it I couldn't have got this far that's for sure).

I will do a few more posts of the interim period to show some of the problems I had and then I will show you where I am as of 5th July 2014 - which is a landmark day in the life of this mini!

Cheers,

Rod

Attached Files

#2 rodandtom

rodandtom

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 06:01 PM

Here are a few shots of the engine during strip down. Sorry if some of them aren't too clear.