4 replies to this topic

#1 Sav154

Sav154

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 October 2014 - 09:03 AM

Hi I'm relatively new to the mini world, I'm looking at fitting a new dash with all new gauges 3+3 I'm thinking 1) Speedo 2) Tachometer (revs) 3) Oil pressure 4) Water temp 5) Clock (time) 6)?? Not sure what, volts, vac or amps just looking through the forum not many people have good things to say about amps so thinking of staying clear of that one, you opinions would be appreciated and any other options welcomed p.s the speedo I'm looking at has a fuel gauge iv not forgotten it :-)

#2 Ocado Man

Ocado Man

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts

Posted 21 October 2014 - 09:48 AM

Oil pressure is always the first to install. (You can get the oil pressure & water temp as a dual gauge). I would personally go for battery condition rather than amps. 

#3 dklawson

dklawson

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,923 posts
  • Name: Doug
  • Local Club: none

Posted 21 October 2014 - 11:56 AM

p.s the speedo I'm looking at has a fuel gauge iv not forgotten it :-)

Gauge selection is largely a personal choice.  I do agree that an oil pressure gauge is one to add if your car doesn't have one already.

Since you have selected a speedometer and you say it includes a fuel gauge... is this an electronic speedometer/computer or a traditional cable driven Smiths type unit?  If the speedometer is electronic, make sure you select a sending unit to support it.  I cannot remember the name at the moment but if you search this web site for old threads on speedometer sending units you will find a couple that are compatible with the Mini gearbox.