#1 Mini Manannán

Mini Manannán

Well I'll be buggered if I can find it

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,825 posts
  • Local Club: man Estate

Posted 03 January 2015 - 10:03 PM

I like the MED bellmouth idea but Professor Pye wanted me to avoid it because of the air vent and mounting bolts on the face "we'll engineer one".  In the meantime I bought the Pipercross bellmouth.  According to Vizard's bible the intake will flow better than the Pipercross by 0.6% if it's a 'flat' bellmouth like the MED version.  

We'd been fiddling around with an airbox design for a while when I remembered an application called Sketchup.  One night before xmas I started drawing a bellmouth [sub stack]:

BadSubStack_zps12c019b0.jpg

It had a fatal flaw with the way I'd drawn it.  It drove me to drink  :w00t: 

I came back to it the next day and drew it again, and again,

and again,

and again,

and again,

and again...

It came back with the same result.  :w00t:  

So I joined a Sketchup forum.  After many naive questions I got a result:

GoodSubStack_zps6f7bb6c9.jpg

I took it to Professor Pye, "It's too small, max out the width of the bell".  So I measured up the size of the virtual airbox and went back to drawing it:

SubStack8bellreversed_zps6652d59a.jpg

At about this time we thought of 3D printing it.  We were muttering about this 3D printing malarkey when Sid rolled up at the shed and said his brother has a 3D printer!

Only having the vaguest idea about the technique I went back to the Sketchup forum.  I was told you have to put in support materials on overhangs on desktop printers.  This really threw me, I'd have to put hundreds of supports in and around and under my beautiful bellmouth. >_<  Then I was told that if I went to a commercial powder printer they would just blow the support powder off, job done.  So that was Sid's brother's desktop printer idea blown out of the water! :P