12 replies to this topic

#1 OllyGW

OllyGW

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 08 July 2015 - 11:19 AM

Hey all, i know quite a few people have already started threads like these but i couldn't find one that helped me out.

Anyway, so i have a 1978 1000 and yesterday morning i went to start her up and she cranked over once, then i tried again and got no response. Had a fiddle with some wires to check connection but seems there is no power going to the starter motor. Tried again but nothing. I checked the solenoid and there is 12volts going in but couldn't find any volts coming out towards the starter, I'm fairly sure its nots the battery as the lights and stereo all work well. Also there doesn't seem to be any clicking noise or anything, no sounds. I'm fairly new to minis and electrics so anything would help!

Could it be that the solenoid has given up? or maybe a lose earth?  

Thanks in advance, Olly. 

#2 henryS

henryS

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Local Club: DCMOC(?)

Posted 08 July 2015 - 11:33 AM

If you have a multi-meter it's worth checking the resistance from the engine to the body to test the earth connection.

There should be a 'control' wire from the ignition switch to the starter motor solenoid which lets it send power to the motor. Check this has voltage when turning the key.

If no voltage, trace back to the key and check along the way.

If there is a voltage (and let others correct me) but it could mean a faulty solenoid?

#3 ashleyread1

ashleyread1

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Local Club: London and Surrey MOC

Posted 08 July 2015 - 11:41 AM

i had this before it was a faulty solenoid simple change. 

#4 OllyGW

OllyGW

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 08 July 2015 - 12:24 PM

If you have a multi-meter it's worth checking the resistance from the engine to the body to test the earth connection.