9 replies to this topic

#1 New game mini

New game mini

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts

Posted 09 October 2015 - 12:04 PM

Hi folks, I'm sorry to be a total noob/nana/melt (feel free to add) but my 86 Mayfair auto has failed His mot today on a couple of bits and I could do with some help translating the fails into noob language as I don't want to be replacing the wrong bits. The fails listed are:

'Subframe mounting prescribed area is excessively corroded off side front (floor)'

'Subframe attachment rubber mounting bonding deteriorated resulting in excessive movement offside front (rear mounting)'

'Subframe mounting prescribed area is excessively corroded nearside front (inner wing bottom)'

I also have excessive free play in my steering rack detected at the steering wheel. And need a new rack, is this a professional only job??

I know these aren't big fails but the wording has just thrown me to be honest.

Any advice or guidance is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Jamie

#2 Gerbil367

Gerbil367

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 646 posts
  • Local Club: GMOC

Posted 09 October 2015 - 12:57 PM

If you are going to do the work on the front subframe - it will make the steering rack replacement a bit easier!  Pain of a job, but might as well do them all in a oner!! I think there was a thread on rack replacement a little while back??  Maybe someone else will be able to point you to it?

#3 New game mini

New game mini

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 294 posts

Posted 09 October 2015 - 02:06 PM

That sounds good. I would prefer to do it all myself I'm just not very good :P but only one wayvto learn! :D

Been looking at the bits I think I need and they're much cheaper than I thought which is a bonus.

I think I just need to have a look at the car later when I'm home to visualize what some of the fails are as the wording has thrown me a bit.

#4 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin