170 replies to this topic

#1 ryomini

ryomini

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 583 posts

Posted 04 November 2015 - 01:43 PM

Grandfather B died of cancer when I was still in shorts.

He left home when he was 16 and was an autodidact.

He fixed anything and everything mechanical.

He was distant, grumpy and scary but his house, garage and workshop were a wonderland of machines and pieces and parts.

His passion for those same machines rubbed off on me and before all my own hair falls out I do this in his memory.

Thanks grandpa B

So with my bemis in hand, my genuine Bemis and Call monkey wrench. I swapped 3tons for 750kgs and everyone was happy. I got this badge and what it's attached to. It's been sitting in field for over a decade.  It's the crack of dawn for my first ever Mini project.  I have never done this before but thanks to the TMF am happy to be able share much of this with you all.

It's actually a '93 Spi not a Cooper S, some young 'un just stuck that on there back in the day.

(Oops, sorry 'bout the giant pix, I don't know how to post thumbnails from photobucket)

CIMG2564_zpsr9gmhj3q.jpg

IMG_5178_small_zps2flik7gq.jpg

#2 James_eaton_thewholething

James_eaton_thewholething

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,063 posts

Posted 04 November 2015 - 02:39 PM

Good luck with the build. Don't worry about the size of the pics the bigger the better

#3 Corey96Williams

Corey96Williams

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 316 posts

Posted 04 November 2015 - 04:28 PM

Have you got any more photos of it?

#4 ryomini

ryomini

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 583 posts

Posted 05 November 2015 - 01:41 PM

@Corey

yes it has stuff growing in the windows

and came with buckets of half smoked cigarettes all over the place.  I must have cleaned out over 50

I took me a while to get to the battery which was still there, had to unbolt the right hand side of the boot