#1 rpcars

rpcars

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 June 2016 - 08:54 AM

Hi everyone,

I've been seriously looking into getting a mini project recently. I live in Dubai and would like nothing more than to watch the smile fall of the rich kids faces when I give there Lamborghini a run for its money in an old mini.

I have the facilities and time to build a car, I used to work as a race car builder and am also a trained mechanic so I have that side of things covered. I don't have bucket loads of cash to throw at a project and I would like to get it all done in 12 months. I can probably get around 10k together in order to complete it in that time.

A Z-cars RWD Hyabusa swap seems to be the ultimate to me but in order to go for that I would need more cash which equals more time (and I'm impatient). I've seen various subframe kits for FWD R1 engine conversions.  

What I'd like to know from you guys is your opinions on the best bang per buck, what are the pro's and cons of each? Would I be better off saving up for the Z-cars conversion or are the R1 conversions a good compromise? What company does the best R1 kit as there are a few suppliers around? I want to use the car for autotests and track days. I like the idea of RWD but is it worth the extra cost? I also like the idea of a high reving bike engine with a sequential box but how does the bike engine compare to the V-tec kits? again pro's and con's of each would be good.

I want to make sure I have a proper plan and get as much info as possible before I start the project, I don't want to get halfway through and wish id gone for a different option.

Cheers Matt

#2 Mini 360

Mini 360

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,933 posts
  • Local Club: Independent

Posted 06 June 2016 - 09:26 AM

Well Z-Cars are no longer in business so that limits your options.  Popular R1 kits are from Pro-Motive and LynxAE.

#3 cptkirk

cptkirk

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• Members