92 replies to this topic

#1 Anchoright

Anchoright

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts

Posted 27 August 2016 - 02:58 PM

I'm not a mechanic. But I do like cars and I know how to tinker, having done a bit of a lot of stuff. Cars are more like a hobby to me, and I've built or repaired a few.

That being said, enough about me. A few people asked me to make a thread about my electric conversion and so here we go! It might take me a while to post the story, but I'll do it little by little when I'm free. I'm going to fast track the beginning, but my 1984 Austin Mini Mayfair has been through a whirlpool over the few years I've had him.

It all started out with a VW Bug that I got from a friend. After realizing that I had been driving with half an engine for over 100 miles, I went through an engine replacement that left the car rather stunning. It was too nice to drive. When I would come back from the store to my car, there would be groups of people gathered around the car taking photos.

Attached File  image.jpeg   58.77K   30 downloads

At any rate, I had always wanted a Mini ever since I was a kid, and I found a listing on eBay of one that wasn't all that great, but that would be an even trade for my VW. So I made the trip out to St Louis Mo to go get it. That was an adventure in itself but I'm fast-tracking this story!

The trip was too far to turn around without doing the deal. But I was not too happy with the Mini. It was certainly not an even trade - it was junk. It had never been in an accident. However the exterior was ugly, the engine would pour out oil like a cup of coffee if you tilted the car, and the interior was disgusting and smelled like Mr Linch's car who would take me to school in the 3rd Grade. Bad memories! I could not even sit in the car until I had gutted it!

So even trade it was not, but project - very much so.

Attached File  image.jpeg   41.55K   37 downloads

Edited by Anchoright, 28 August 2016 - 12:44 PM.

#2 Anchoright