#1 Jimmer 84mayfair

Jimmer 84mayfair

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 15 December 2016 - 03:28 PM

Hi all,

A strange thing that someone on here may have experienced,... and have hopefully found an answer.

Firstly, I have plenty of experience with brakes and have bled many systems before, but this one has me stumped. It is an all drum system, so that is different, but the principles for expelling air surely have to be the same!

I decided to replace my braking system completely on Mini Mayfair, after the brakes were failing,... going soft. The old system looked tired and there was obviously fluid leaking from one or two of the wheel cylinders.

I have now replaced everything on the system, the pipes, master cylinder, brake limiter valve, springs, all connectors, washers, wheel cylinders, bleed screws,... the lot (from Mini-spares). i have now completed this task, but now I am still having very similar problems to before! I have used new brake fluid on each occasion, and have used a one man Gunson bleeding kit connected to a tyre to push the fluid through the system into a jar with aid of a one way valve bleed pipe.

After opening the bleed screws in correct sequence, the system is seemingly flowing free of air bubbles. Yet after a day or two of driving the peddle starts to drop and there is now no pressure left.

I have bled the system three or four times thinking that this time the pressure was up to scratch, and all balanced and cannot see any leaks coming from anywhere on the system, only to find a day or to into driving the peddle slowly dropping.

There are no puddles or visible wetness on any joints. This must mean air is getting in, or there was still air trapped that is taking its time to move elsewhere which has an effect on the system.