Photo
- - - - -

Looking For Tips For A Complete Beginner!

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 thewizard99

thewizard99

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:14 PM

Hi

So i'am a complete beginner in looking to do up a old Mini. Looking for some starting tips, directions to research, parts,tools etc. Anything to help me get going before i take the plunge and dive in the deep end. 

Looking forward to the responses.

Thanks

Chris

#2 Rocket.

Rocket.

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,441 posts

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:18 PM

Welcome to TMF you've come to the right place!

#3 mab01uk

mab01uk

Moved Into The Garage

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,776 posts
  • Local Club: Mini Cooper Register

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:27 PM

Worth getting a copy of this book below as a start.

Haynes Restoration Manual

Dubbed 'Car of the Century' the evergreen Mini, with its spares availability, unrivalled economy and usability, is the ideal restorer's car. This book - covering all models including the Mini-Cooper - details how to renovate bodywork; renew interiors; give new life to mechanical and electrical components including engine overhaul and suspension subframe renewal; and modify the car for improved performance and appearance, including engine swaps and wider wheels. The text, supported with nearly 900 illustrations, chronicles the history of the Mini, and advises how to find a good example for purchase.
http://www.haynes.co.../...1&langId=-1

Edited by mab01uk, 13 February 2017 - 08:27 PM.

#4 thewizard99

thewizard99

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:30 PM

Thanks Mab01uk! Ordered!

#5 MrBounce

MrBounce

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,558 posts

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:52 PM