14 replies to this topic

#1 Sophie123.d

Sophie123.d

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 27 April 2017 - 03:49 PM

Hi I'm new to this, I've installed a stereo in my 1991 mini rover. To begin with my stereo would turn off when I put my headlights on but now neither my stereo or headlights are turning on, anyone know what could be the problem?
Apologies in advance if this question has been asked before but I couldn't find any answers

#2 Rapidmini59

Rapidmini59

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Local Club: Minifreaks

Posted 27 April 2017 - 04:38 PM

Hi dude
Firstly disconnect the stereo and make sure the wiring for the car is back as it was before you go any further.
Next check the fuse for the lights it should be the bottom fuse, number 7 and 8 if you have only 4 fuses like i do.
If blown replace fuse, try lights and make sure they now work, if good then proceed with the next section.

Next look at stereo it should have a red and a yellow these are both a 12 v source but one is connected to a permanent live the other to a switchable live, the radio info should tell you which wire is which and your black wire from stereo is the earth.
The permanent live is to allow storage of you radio stations etc.
The switchable live will turn the radio on and off with ignition.
Ok now get a test lead or a bulb with two wires attached and connect one wire from the bulb to an earth point close to the fuse box but not in the fuse box
Next with the ignition off key out,take the other lead from bulb and touch the end of the bare wire to the top right fuse terminal, if the bulb lights then this is where you conect your permanent live for the stereo probably yellow wire from stereo.