Photo

Another Mpi Cooling Fan Issue... Boiling Over And Fan Not Switching On.

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 gazpoole

gazpoole

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 21 May 2017 - 11:53 AM

Ok, so mine's a little different than any of the others on the forum.. I have looked long and hard...

You should know, I'm a rookie mechanic, this is the first car I've wanted to try doing everything myself with so apologies if it's an obvious fix... 

I have recently drained all the coolant from the car and installed a replacement Coolant Temp Sensor (GTR206) as the cooling fan was coming on all the time... I have since filled the car back up, but now the radiator fan doesn't come on at all, so the coolant is boiling over.

Could it be that now the sensor is fixed, it's apparent there was an issue with the thermostat and this also needs to be changed?

The temp gauge in the car sits right in the middle, even when the coolant is boiling over. If I remove the wiring from the Temp Sensor, the cooling fan switches on, so it isn't a problem with he fan.

Hoping for an easy fix... Any help appreciated.

#2 jamesquintin

jamesquintin

One Carb Or Two?

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,016 posts

Posted 21 May 2017 - 04:59 PM

Have you looked into this:

https://www.minispar.../YMQ105690.aspx

​Had the same issue with my fan not coming on.

How long does it take your car to boil over? Is this whilst driving or just idling? The fan pretty much never comes on when I'm driving, just when I'm stuck in traffic.

I would be replacing your water pump and the thermostat

Q

#3 gazpoole

gazpoole

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 21 May 2017 - 06:16 PM

Have you looked into this:

https://www.minispar.../YMQ105690.aspx
​Had the same issue with my fan not coming on.