Photo

Finally Bought My First Mini, Need Some Help Turning A Lemon Into Lemonade!

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Phil210293

Phil210293

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 11 July 2017 - 09:40 AM

Hi guys, weekend before last I finally bit the bullet after fantasizing about a mini since I passed my test, so this is 7 years in the making. A quick rundown of what I "know" about the car: 1989 Mini Thirty, supposedly with a 1275 engine, big  valve head, stainless DTM exhaust, one piece liftoff fibreglass front end, etc. etc.

I've had it just over a week, and spent more time taking it to bits than driving it (the joys of owning a classic car :lol:), and I've got a few simple problems that neither myself (mechanically speaking, an absolute novice) nor my dad can figure out...

When I bought the car from someone who shall remain nameless for reasons that will become clear, it was overheating like a MF (120+ degrees C). Of course, on the quick test drive this wasn't a problem and I never noticed, but driving 100 miles home from Buckingham, I had to stop twice to let it cool down. The heater matrix was leaking, no big deal, so that has been bypassed until I take it out to repair/replace it. There was a small 80W electric fan on the rad, with no mechanical fan, and the rad had been moved away and downwards with some dodgy homemade brackets. To cut a long story short, I ordered an 11 blade fan, made some brackets and unbodged the bodge to restore the mechanical fan. Turns out they moved the rad to allow the front end to fit, so we've chopped the rad cap off and soldered a brass cap plate on, and fitted a land rover expansion tank just to get it running while I get a radiator that fits (or have one made if it comes to it) and a stainless expansion tank to fit under the wing.