20 replies to this topic

#1 srx600

srx600

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 05 January 2018 - 09:44 AM

I am new to Minis and have been trying to work out how the bonnet hinges attach to the bulkhead. After some googling and head scratching I have realised that the previous owner has removed the hinge brackets from the bulkhead. The car came with a fibreglass bonnet and pin brackets so they obvious decided they brackets were redundant.

Apart from buying a complete new bulkhead I can't seem to find a source for the brackets. Does anyone know if/where these can be obtained ?. One option could be to cut them out of an old shell.

#2 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,900 posts
  • Name: Neil

Posted 05 January 2018 - 10:15 AM

Your biggest problem now is once you acquire a set of mounts is fitting them to the bulkhead. To get around this buy a set of Minivation articulated hinges. No more banging your head on the bonnet and the biggest pain trying to align the original mounts.

#3 alex-95

alex-95

I am THE CLAMP MAKER

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,017 posts

Posted 05 January 2018 - 11:03 AM

Your biggest problem now is once you acquire a set of mounts is fitting them to the bulkhead. To get around this buy a set of Minivation articulated hinges. No more banging your head on the bonnet and the biggest pain trying to align the original mounts.

I was going to suggest this but you'd have to hunt around for the previous version as the latest version fits to the original mounts. They are great hinges though.

#4 alex-95

alex-95

I am THE CLAMP MAKER

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,017 posts

Posted 05 January 2018 - 11:06 AM

It's the version 2.5 that bolts to the inner wing. send them a message and see if they still have a set.

#5 sonikk4

sonikk4

• Admin
  • 15,900 posts

Posted 05 January 2018 - 11:56 AM