21 replies to this topic

#1 matto224

matto224

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 22 January 2018 - 09:16 PM

Hey guys! I have a 1995 spi rover and im looking to start on engine upgrades to give it a little more power, im new to minis so still learning!

I understand spi engines are much harder to tune than carbd engines (i wanted a carbed engine but chose bodywork over engine)

Can anyone point me in the right direction for starters? I was thinking of a exhaust system anyone recommend a good system?

Thanks !!

#2 psmini

psmini

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Local Club: None

Posted 22 January 2018 - 09:40 PM

Hi,

My Mayfair's engine has been rebuilt and rebored to 1293cc, had a stage 4 head, kent 274 cam and an LCB/RC40 exhaust system and K+N air filter.  Now has 53bhp at the wheels.  Still has the spi system.  Its built for reliability, could get way more power with a carb but the rolling road guy (Southam mini centre) commented on what a strong and well balanced engine it is.  I'd suggest going for the exhaust and an air filter to give an instant boost and it will sound nicer too.

#3 matto224

matto224

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 22 January 2018 - 09:57 PM

Hi,

My Mayfair's engine has been rebuilt and rebored to 1293cc, had a stage 4 head, kent 274 cam and an LCB/RC40 exhaust system and K+N air filter.  Now has 53bhp at the wheels.  Still has the spi system.  Its built for reliability, could get way more power with a carb but the rolling road guy (Southam mini centre) commented on what a strong and well balanced engine it is.  I'd suggest going for the exhaust and an air filter to give an instant boost and it will sound nicer too.