#1 jamiejme

jamiejme

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 08 February 2018 - 05:25 PM

A couple of warnings before you read:
I'm very new to the mini scene...I'm 20 now and this is my first legally owned car; I'm not too farmiliar with the mechanical workings as much as I'd like to be.

Also, this is a bit of story so try to stay with me. (Thanks to anyone who makes it through :) )

So onto the story...a couple of months ago now, I started experienced a squealing fan belt, this mainly occurred when I loaded the alternrator with lights/heater etc. I tightened the fan belt but this created another problem. After 'fixing' the squeal, I began hearing a knocking noise near the fan and belt. This knocking would increase in frequency with revs. Later on the squealing would return but more subdued.

Recently the problem (I assume it is related) culminated in a breakdown on the sliproad of the M1 late at night. That morning the car wouldn't start because the battery had died, it ran after bump starting. After bump starting the start my journey, my engine cut out on the M1 when I activated a few lights (main beam, indicator, heater etc.)

I now have a new battery (wrong shape) wired in series to the old battery. The car starts but the battery does not seem to be charging as i had to fully recharge when the car failed to start.

Due to all this, I was wondering whether it was all related. belt slipping/faulty alternator/another bad battery.

Honestly I'm stumped and would rather fix this myself than pay mechanic prices.

Any help is greatly appreciated and I thank anyone again who managed to reach the end!

#2 Wiggy

Wiggy

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,036 posts

Posted 08 February 2018 - 05:34 PM

I hope you haven't put the batteries in series. That would mean ~24V going to a car designed to run on 12V.

#3 jamiejme

jamiejme

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 08 February 2018 - 05:38 PM