Jump to content


Photo

Dash Cam For Mk3/4's


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 eddy1000

eddy1000

    Starting My Mini Up

  • Noobies
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 08 March 2018 - 10:07 PM

I am wondering if anyone is running a dash cam for their MK3 or 4 mini's? I've done hardwire dash cam installs on new cars with fuse boxes, but not with an older car like a mini.

 

Which wires should I tap into to get access to power when the car turns on?

Cheers



#2 Ethel

Ethel

    ..is NOT a girl!

  • TMF Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,429 posts
  • Local Club: none

Posted 08 March 2018 - 11:53 PM

If you're looking for an ignition fed, live they're the green wires after the fuse, white if unfused.



#3 minifreek1

minifreek1

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,044 posts
  • Location: Wigan
  • Local Club: Leyland Mini Club

Posted 15 March 2018 - 08:02 AM

You could pick up a switched low current feed (which is all you'd need) from the back of the radio on the ISO connection. Usually the yellow wire...



#4 MasterD78

MasterD78

    Mini Mad

  • Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Location: Utah

Posted 17 May 2018 - 06:11 PM

So I am curious if anyone is running a dash cam.  I've been debating it, but would love to hear if someone has any experience.  Following this thread for sure.



#5 timmy850

timmy850

    Camshaft & Stage Two Head

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,723 posts
  • Location: NSW, Australia
  • Local Club: MITG

Posted 18 May 2018 - 10:55 AM

My tip is to always buy a high quality high speed memory card. The cheap ones can cause problems with freezing or re-starting



#6 MasterD78

MasterD78

    Mini Mad

  • Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Location: Utah

Posted 18 May 2018 - 10:22 PM

My tip is to always buy a high quality high speed memory card. The cheap ones can cause problems with freezing or re-starting

 

Do you have one installed in your mini?  My main question would be running the wires.  Putting them under the headliner isn't a simple task like it is in modern cars.  Any thoughts?



#7 timmy850

timmy850

    Camshaft & Stage Two Head

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,723 posts
  • Location: NSW, Australia
  • Local Club: MITG

Posted 18 May 2018 - 11:07 PM

I dont have one hard wired into my mini. Ive got one that plugs into the cigarette lighter accessory power so I can swap which car its in.

Could you possibly run some wires using the same path as the roof light? Of course getting to the headliner is a big deal in the later cars.

#8 Albino_Hedgehog

Albino_Hedgehog

    Speeding Along Now

  • Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 316 posts
  • Location: Rubery
  • Local Club: Solihull Mini Classic Club

Posted 19 May 2018 - 08:54 AM

In mine I have a hard wired USB port that the dash cam is then plugged into.

The wire for the cam is simply pushed into the corner between the a post and windscreen, up over the sunvisor and then to the dash cam on the mirror!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Mini Spares