Photo
- - - - -

What Spares/consumables Do You Keep In Stock?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 TheFabMini

TheFabMini

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 459 posts

Posted 07 May 2018 - 10:45 AM

Hey
I dont know if this has been covered a million times before but Im interested to know what essential mini parts you keep in your workshops/garages.
Im still relatively new to any sort of mechanical work but keep getting this endless frustration that whenever I place an order on minispares for the part I plan on fixing I almost always end up having to do another order a couple of days later for silly things like a couple of bolts or a washer....
For example Im currently replacing the seal on the driveshaft. Ordered the seal and gasket... took everything apart and Ive damaged a rubber dust cover on the ball joint and there was a bolt missing from the diff housing... so thats a £2 order with about £1000000 postage.

In conclusion. What do you all make sure you keep stocked up on to avoid these annoying set backs?

#2 pdaykin

pdaykin

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 587 posts

Posted 07 May 2018 - 11:12 AM

Generally it is just oil, filters, points and condensers. Touch wood, but I don't really suffer a lot of failures. The last things that went were float valve and alternator - not something I would buy on the off chance I would need them

if I see original parts NOS, such as ball joints, I do tend to buy them as some modern stuff can be iffy.

I do have lots of parts that I have never got around to fitting eg hilos. But these aren't really spares.

#3 racingbob

racingbob

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,061 posts

Posted 07 May 2018 - 12:08 PM

packet of those nuts and bolts about £20 you buy at mini shows. oil. filter. Inlet manifold gasket dizzy cap. rotor arm. coil. leads. ball joints. thermostat.rad cap.rocker gasket.fuses to name a few

#4 TheFabMini

TheFabMini