Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Looking For An Ecu For Mpi


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 pete l

pete l

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Location: East of France

Posted 08 May 2018 - 11:46 AM

Hi all,

 

My ECU seems to be burning out the MAP sensor, that's 3 that have died now.

 

So, is there anyone out there selling an MPI ECU cheap ? Will I need the alarm ECU as well and fobs etc ????

Thanks

 

Pete.



#2 Fast Ivan

Fast Ivan

    Up Into Fourth

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,775 posts
  • Location: Earth

Posted 08 May 2018 - 01:38 PM

you'll need the alarm module as well as the fobs unless you have access to the Sykes Pickavant ACR with the correct pod for matching them all.

You'll certainly need some form of diagnostics reader as the owner of an MPI anyway.

 

Also you will need to check that you buy the correct one for your car; there are two for the MPI, I don't have the numbers to hand but they are different and come to think of it one of the differences may have been something to do with the MAP sensors, so this may be worth investigating. 



#3 pete l

pete l

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Location: East of France

Posted 08 May 2018 - 01:44 PM

No, don't say that. Does anyone know what the difference is ????



#4 pete l

pete l

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Location: East of France

Posted 08 May 2018 - 01:48 PM

The ECU that I have is MKC104291

 

And I have access to a T4.


Edited by pete l, 08 May 2018 - 01:48 PM.


#5 FlyingScot

FlyingScot

    Up Into Fourth

  • TMF Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,406 posts
  • Location: Inverclyde Scotland
  • Local Club: Mini Clan (MiniComic)

Posted 08 May 2018 - 02:31 PM

Think it could be easier sending it for testing and repair than finding another one and matching it to your 5AS.
Somewhere like this
http://ecutechnologi...over/MKC104291/

FS

#6 pete l

pete l

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Location: East of France

Posted 08 May 2018 - 02:54 PM

Heres the problem I have.

 

My original map sensor was dead. This prevented the engine from starting.  I got a brand new one from minispares, fitted it to the car, the car starts but runs very rich and lumpy. I test the live data readings and I have 74kpa from the map sensor, all the time, engine running or stopped I still get the same reading.

 

Minispares send me another one, same problem, fixed reading this time of 80kpa.

 

I think, ok, my reader is lying so I connect 5 volts to the map and measure the output voltage of the map sensors, 1.7 volts on the first one and 2.0 volts on the second. Another thing, when powered up, the voltage drops from 5 volts to 3.7 volts and the sensor heats up on the first sensor, and 4.7 volts on the second one.

Sucking on the sensor makes no difference to the output voltages.

 

I don't know what to do, I think my ECU is killing map sensors or I have just been really really unlucky and have received 2 duff map sensors, which I can't believe.

 

Pete.



#7 FlyingScot

FlyingScot

    Up Into Fourth

  • TMF Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,406 posts
  • Location: Inverclyde Scotland
  • Local Club: Mini Clan (MiniComic)

Posted 08 May 2018 - 04:13 PM

Which code reader as you using?
Seems highly unlikely that two MAP sensors are duff but the wiring could be or the ECU is shot.

The cost of checking of the ECU is £35 you are spending more than that now, get it checked and even if it needs repaired they deduct the checking cost from the bill.
FS

#8 pete l

pete l

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Location: East of France

Posted 08 May 2018 - 04:18 PM

I kind of agree with you, but testing the map with a multimeter and a vacuum pump the readings don't change.

#9 minidaves

minidaves

    Up Into Fourth

  • Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,929 posts
  • Location: kent
  • Local Club: mine

Posted 08 May 2018 - 05:03 PM

ecu repair is one way, but what readings are you getting with map sensor disconnected? scoped it? and faulty parts lets not go there, but are you sure you dont have an air leak somewhere? or something else that will change manifold pressure also resistance checks too?



#10 pete l

pete l

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Location: East of France

Posted 08 May 2018 - 05:05 PM

MAP disconnected I'm getting 17kpa.
I tested the wires back to the ecu pins, all OK.

#11 pete l

pete l

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Location: East of France

Posted 08 May 2018 - 05:06 PM

Engine off, I'm only getting 74 to 76 kpa. I should be getting near 100kpa

#12 pete l

pete l

    One Carb Or Two?

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Location: East of France

Posted 10 May 2018 - 11:09 AM

So, I've just been and double checked these map sensors, they are definitely dud. They give a fixed reading of around 2 volts and don't change as I cause a vacuum with a vacuum pump. And they get hot to the touch. Ive tried measuring the current they are pulling but my ampmeter only goes up to 200 ma and it goes off the scale which for me is not right.

 

I also spoke to an ECU repairs company and they said an ECU can not kill a map sensor.

 

Pete.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Mini Spares