M700FGT

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Local Club: LSMOC

Posted 22 May 2018 - 09:40 PM

Hi All,

While in traffic on the London to Brighton, my 1275 Cooper 1997 MPI decided to overheat.

No leaks at all, purely just got to hot and expanded through the pressure release cap. I then suddenly realised that the fan wasn't on at all. Come to think of it, I've never seen the fan on since i brought it in Jan this year. Never really been an issue until now, as i never been stuck in traffic. 

I did have to replace the expansion tank in Jan as the original one has warped and split at the top, but didn't think anything of it as i was told the MPI expansion tank was a common fault.

So i need a little help and a few pointers as im not a mechanic, but want to learn and have a go. The 15A fuse that controls the fan is fine and not blown, Whats the next thing to check? 

#2 nicklouse

nicklouse

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,935 posts
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 22 May 2018 - 09:46 PM

give it 12V and see if it works. if it does it will be the sensor in the thermostat housing sandwich plate.

#3 M700FGT

M700FGT

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts

Posted 22 May 2018 - 09:59 PM

give it 12V and see if it works. if it does it will be the sensor in the thermostat housing sandwich plate.

Thanks for that, i will give that a go.

I have a feeling the thermostat was replaced last year, but the seller was so 'unusual' i can't really be sure what was done. 

#4 RedRuby

RedRuby

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
  • Local Club: No

Posted 22 May 2018 - 11:06 PM