5 replies to this topic

#1 Jimmy95

Jimmy95

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 November 2018 - 08:47 PM

So bitten the bullitt after wanting to get a mini for years, and found one on ebay. Not as close as I would’ve hoped as I’ve now got to catch a 4 hour train journey to get it and drive it back down haha but all part of the fun I suppose.

Some questions as I’m a real newbie... looking to refurb, do up the 1985 mini with different engine, and trick the whole mini up ( not boy racer look) but a real, nice trick head turner, with new engine. Not instant but refurb over some time.

What engines would people recommend, I’ve read a bit about r1 engines, civic engines etc but hard to know what’s best for performance, what fits best, reliability, obviously r1 engine won’t have a reverse function, just seeing what people’s thoughts are on a good alrounder... also how does it work to be road legal with log books etc?

Shops for supplying parts?

Mini clubs, I’m based near Tunbridge Wells so would be good to meet and get chatting to other mini enthusiasts..

Looking forward to a any replies.

Thansks

Jimmy

#2 nicklouse

nicklouse

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,945 posts
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 02 November 2018 - 10:57 PM

you would need a full IVA now. have a look in the alternative engines section most have been done.

i would keep the original as it will be easier to put it back on the road. then after some time consider the other engine.

#3 Retroman

Retroman

One Carb Or Two?

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 967 posts
  • Local Club: CDMC

Posted 02 November 2018 - 11:19 PM

Welcome to TMF

Nick just beat me to it by seconds, but I am a big believer in keeping the A series engine its what the car was designed with and is  difficult to improve on.