Photo

Opinions On Bodywork Condition - Consider Better Shell?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 FilthyLucre

FilthyLucre

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 December 2018 - 07:58 PM

Hello all!

As I have posted on the introductions , I acquired my current Mini last year - I am not totally new to ownership but this is the first time I will be tackling a project alone. I have no previous experience of welding or fixing bodywork , just of the mechanical bits!

Basically the shell is generally in pretty good condition - the wings , front , roof, gutters , are rust free . The floor and sills however are another matter . They have clearly been patched before and not to a good standard.

From the pictures below, (I can get more) , would you agree that they are beyond repair so to speak and that I am looking at new floor plans and sills at the very least?

I have spent a few weeks reading the excellent guides here but it still seems daunting - should I man up and give it a whirl myself or is this realistically a difficult task?

It seems a shame for me to hack an otherwise good car to bits before asking the question ?.

The pictures show footwell, floor and sills.

Many thanks

JT

Attached Files

#2 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,885 posts
  • Name: Neil

Posted 30 December 2018 - 10:54 PM

Looking at the pictures you have oversills fitted, so straight away you will need inner and outer sills. Also by the looks of it the rear floor has already been replaced before so on that particular side you may be better off doing a full half floor replacement.

This will include the inner sill so no messing around there. Also i would be tempted to chin off the seat crossmember and fit a new one as well. Lots of bodgery going on there so do not mess about with it.

#3 Homersimpson

Homersimpson

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts