Photo
- - - - -

How To Make More Reliable Torque Without Busting The Budget

engine

Best Answer nicklouse , 04 January 2019 - 10:46 PM

well first i dont think it will be an inline block.

what is the cam? as that is what determines the power characteristics.

and i would bin the twins and fit a HIF44 on a good inlet manifold.

i would check your final drive as well. a 3.44 would be nice.

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 postve

postve

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts

Posted 04 January 2019 - 09:46 PM

Hello folks,

Again I am new to my 1978 classic mini with 1275 A MG Midget engine - love it - but thinking I want a bit more torque in the mid range - 1500 - 6500 - not too concerned about the top end.  Be interested in thoughts as I have heard a lot and like this forum as most of my answers have come from here.

So, based on what I painstaking gathered about my mini below - interested in thoughts and will reply to any further questions.  I am reading D.Vizard's mini bible and getting a lot of good solid ideas but, want to know what guys/gals have done themselves.

Here are the specs and welcome any and all feedback - thx so much in advance for those that have the time to deal with a newbie..

Engine Specs Description Specs 1275CC - MG Midget engine Carb - Type (Dual) HS2   Carb - Bowl 1.25   Carb AUC-1341/AUC-1342   Carb - Dampers AUC-1803   Carb - Float Chamber AUC - 2277   Exhaust Manifold LCB   Intake Manifold 12A309 MOWOG   Exhaust   RC-40 - single box   Cylinder Head 12G1316 - X (Smog)   CAM 731 C-AEG-800   Compression Ratio  - standard??   Gear Ratio 4.133   Slave Cylinder Pre-Verto   Distributor Petronix Electronic (New)   Ignition Coil Petronix Ignitor (New)   Alternator 70 AMP - Lucas (New)   Tyres Yokohama 165/70-10 (new)

#2 nicklouse

nicklouse

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,899 posts
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker