#1 Fastorq

Fastorq

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts

Posted 06 January 2019 - 01:09 PM

I’m new to mini engine tuning.
I need to buy parts and have parts machined but have read on here that the two main suppliers frequently have quality and service issues.

The one in particular that I always considered the watchword in Mini Parts back in the 70’s seems to attract the most criticism.( although I had a 1275 S engine built by them that never ran well and constantly “pinked” no matter what I did to prevent it)

So my confusion is ... where do I source the several thousand pounds worth of parts and service that I need.

Cheers
DavidR

#2 nicklouse

nicklouse

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,935 posts
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 06 January 2019 - 01:17 PM

depends what you are buying.

recently bought a short motor and head and flywheel assy from Minispares (with discount) and a gearbox from Guessworks put it all together and runs great. 1380 road car.

the short motors from Minispares come from Bill Richards. the Heads come from Keith Calver. nuf said.

but if i was doing a Race build i would use someone else for the macjhining and prep.

the thing to watch out for are poor electrical parts. never presume they are actually correct now.

#3 ACDodd

ACDodd

Up Into Fourth

• Mini Docs
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,654 posts

Posted 06 January 2019 - 01:21 PM

What do you want to achieve?

Ac

#4 ukcooper

ukcooper

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts

Posted 06 January 2019 - 06:52 PM

self build i take it , if not see ac dodd or turbo phil seen both builing qualitys very good in my opinion ...see both med close 3rd 

look for people who give a toss about there reputation dont go the 1380 route less you got a shafted 1310 block as  not worth it

bearing pistons http://www.fwthornton.co.uk/8.html best in the world I believe