20 replies to this topic

#1 Haz20

Haz20

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 10 January 2019 - 12:13 PM

I’m a student engineer and the proud the owner of a 1992 mini with the original A+ series engine. I recently dismantled the whole engine to replace old parts. I put everything back together correctly and it turns lovely.

However, I have no oil pressure. I read a couple topics on this but can’t seem to find the fault. I haven’t started the engine only been turning it over. I’ve primed the pump multiple times and fed oil manually through the whole system. I did this aswell as turning it over after priming while waiting a good 40 seconds of solid turning over and got nothing.

Furthermore, I took apart the engine again to ensure the gaskets where properly fitted and that the o ring was in place, also checked the pressure relief was not jammed open. After putting it back together again, priming and turning over several times, I had pressure, I don’t know what I did different because everything was fine when I checked. However after leaving for 10 mins and turning over again, no pressure, since then I’ve been constantly priming and turning over but no luck.

Further useful information, when turning over without the oil filter pipe, oil comes out of the hole at a reasonable rate. Also when priming most of the oil sinks down the hole without turning the engine, I’m worried it could be internally leaking if that’s a thing, but I did get pressure for a moment, and haven’t taken it apart since only been priming.

Any help and advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Harry.

#2 nicklouse

nicklouse

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,900 posts
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 10 January 2019 - 12:21 PM

possible problems.

the bolts holding the oil pump in place are too long.

the oil pump gasket is not correctly punched causing sealing issues.

both are known issues and should be checked.