Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Oil Pressure Light Confusion


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jaybeeonline

jaybeeonline

    Just On Tickover

  • TMF+ Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location: Glasgow

Posted 11 February 2019 - 06:20 PM

The oil pressure light on my GTM Rossa with MG Metro engine & box would not illuminate when I turned the ignition on and suspecting a faulty pressure switch, I bought and fitted a replacement; however, I have a weird situation where the oil pressure light still will not light with ignition on only but when I start and run the engine, the light comes on and off - when I turn the engine off and leave the key in ignition on, it won’t light again.

I know the oil pressure switch earths through the engine block but this has confused the life out of me, as it is working backwards - can anyone with a better brain than me advise?


Ta

J.

#2 mini13

mini13

    Up Into Fourth

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,089 posts

Posted 11 February 2019 - 06:30 PM

Check the light with the spade disconnected, and also with it grounded to the block. It should light when grounded.

Iirc the metro turbo had an oil pressure switch that worked back to front as it used the oil switch to cut the fuel pump. Could be you have one of those fitted.

Edited by mini13, 11 February 2019 - 06:31 PM.


#3 nicklouse

nicklouse

    Moved Into The Garage

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,362 posts
  • Location: Not Yorkshire

Posted 11 February 2019 - 06:36 PM

a link to the switch you bought would be good as well.

 

i would also be checking the wiring to the lamp.



#4 Moke Spider

Moke Spider

    Crazy About Mini's

  • TMF Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,276 posts
  • Location: NSW
  • Local Club: South Australian Moke Club

Posted 11 February 2019 - 07:01 PM

As the other guys have said, while most switches are normally closed with no pressure, there are also some that are normally open on no pressure.

 

You can change the Switch or fit a relay.



#5 jaybeeonline

jaybeeonline

    Just On Tickover

  • TMF+ Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location: Glasgow

Posted 12 February 2019 - 07:00 AM

The switch I bought was as below;

https://www.ebay.co....872.m2749.l2649


J.

#6 gazza82

gazza82

    Camshaft & Stage Two Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,987 posts
  • Location: Bucks
  • Local Club: TMF+

Posted 12 February 2019 - 05:05 PM

Moss list Mini oil pressure switch as GPS133 ... but I wouldn't have thought that the GPS192 worked differently ... unless that one is for the non-A-series engines fitted to that range of cars ..



#7 nicklouse

nicklouse

    Moved Into The Garage

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,362 posts
  • Location: Not Yorkshire

Posted 12 February 2019 - 08:42 PM

The switch I bought was as below;

https://www.ebay.co....872.m2749.l2649


J.

Ok what dash display do you have in the car? i am guessing a Metro one?



#8 jaybeeonline

jaybeeonline

    Just On Tickover

  • TMF+ Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location: Glasgow

Posted 12 February 2019 - 09:46 PM

The switch I bought was as below;

https://www.ebay.co....872.m2749.l2649


J.

Ok what dash display do you have in the car? i am guessing a Metro one?

Yes, MG Metro binnacle and I had initially thought that the ribbon had failed but all checked out fine after continuity testing.


J




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Mini Spares