#1 Moggyman60

Moggyman60

On The Road

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts

Posted 07 April 2019 - 10:50 AM

Hello everyone,

My name is andy and i have a mk2 1968 cooper that has the  hydrolastic setup, however pretty soon i would

like to get some bodywork done on the car which of course will mean draining the fluid, i have no real knowledge

of the hydro system so am going to find it difficult to take the system appart.  I am also thinking of changing to a dry

suspension setup afterwards.......maybe fitting hi lo's, my first question is will this affect the current value of the car

as it is a matching numbers vehicle with loads of history?  If not i would then be willing to sell on all the displacers

and pipe work from the car to help pay for the new bits, would anyone have any ideas please?

cheers andy :unsure:

#2 Minigman

Minigman

One Carb Or Two?

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 779 posts

Posted 07 April 2019 - 11:13 AM

I’ve had a hydro mk1 and loved it!

I’m not sure the value would alter too much currently as a lot of cars have been changed to dry. But long term originality will achieve a higher value.

I used an old school garage who had a hydro pump to unpressurise the system.

I think it’s a marmite situation - some love it most will hate it (and many will hate it having never been in a hydro mini). I’d keep them personally. Lovely ride. Easy to alter the ride height.

But when they go wrong it can be costly to sort out. My mk1 needed two refurbed ‘bags’ and a length of pipework. If I recall that come out at near £500. I’ve heard of higher bills than that.

Original gets my vote. Dry set ups are common and easy to achieve any time. Once the hydro is gone it’s gone and a lot harder to get going again.

Edited by Minigman, 07 April 2019 - 11:17 AM.

#3 KTS

KTS

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,257 posts

Posted 07 April 2019 - 11:15 AM

Hi Andy