#1 [email protected]

[email protected]

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 17 April 2019 - 09:20 AM

Hi,

I’ve got a problem with my fuel pump fuse blowing. It started out intermittent and a bit random but now blows 10-20 seconds after starting without fail.

I can’t see any obvious shorts in the wiring but there are bits I cannot see.

I have a multimeter but i’m No auto electrician and wondered if there’s a failsafe systematic way to test and diagnose the issue? Or even test the fuel pump to rule the pump out as a problem.

I tried replacing with a higher rated fuse just to see what happened. It doesn’t blow the fuse but the fuel pump seems to pulsate. Doesn’t really help the diagnosis.

Thanks

JJ

#2 craig 1010cc

craig 1010cc

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,165 posts

Posted 17 April 2019 - 11:11 AM

to me it sounds like the pump is failing and starting to seize or that there is a restriction in the fuel system (one of the filters blocked or a kinked pipe) thus drawing extra current.

You could test the pump by running a fresh 12v feed to it straight from the battery and see if it still pulsates. If it doesn't, then there is a wiring issue, if it does then there is a physical issue

#3 humph

humph

How bad can it Be?

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,065 posts

Posted 17 April 2019 - 12:07 PM

minimissions had a similar problem with his fuel pump cutting out, can't find the thread at the moment. It'll be here somewhere, likely under injection specific.

#4 [email protected]

[email protected]

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 17 April 2019 - 01:16 PM

I wondered about a blockage. I did have a local garage replace some sections of corroded fuel pipe between the tank and filter with rubber sections.

As a precaution I did take the fuel filter off and checked for debris. I didn’t find anything but probably worth checking again.