#1 nicholasp99

nicholasp99

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 07 July 2019 - 01:24 PM

Hi chaps,

What sort of welders are people using for panels? Probably MIG with gassless wire? I’m a beginner and wondering what type of wire I need and so on... any tips would be wonderful...

#2 unburntfuelinthemorning

unburntfuelinthemorning

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,914 posts

Posted 07 July 2019 - 01:28 PM

Gasless mig welders aren't that great.  You're much better using gas, you'll get better results.

#3 Homersimpson

Homersimpson

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 797 posts

Posted 07 July 2019 - 02:52 PM

I would go for a gas Mig rather than gasless. Machine Mart sell some good Clarke units. I have an old 150te which is model that has been superceded, it's really good and can do anything you wanton a car and even handle some thicker items.

#4 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,884 posts
  • Name: Neil

Posted 07 July 2019 - 04:38 PM

So many times has this particular question has been raised and there will be a multitude of answers.

So first thing is, have you got a garage or car port to weld in?? If so then a Gas Mig will be the way fwd. If not then a gasless one maybe of more use HOWEVER its easy to create a shield to prevent your gas supply from being affected.

Secondly, your budget??? Now a reasonable hobby welder is the Clarke 135TE Turbo. More than good enough for all of your needs on a mini.

If however you have a far better budget then you can look at the likes of Porta Mig etc.

#5 cal844

cal844

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,482 posts
  • Local Club: TFMOC

Posted 08 July 2019 - 10:00 PM