Photo

What Influenced You To Style Your Mini The Way You Did?

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 M700FGT

M700FGT

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Local Club: LSMOC

Posted 24 July 2019 - 07:50 PM

So last year i brought another classic Mini. Unlike my first one that was a beaten up 1993 Silver Mayfair, this one was a 1997 Cooper Sport Pack in Kingfisher Blue.

It was untidy and had some questionable work done, but i could see the potential. Im not a mechanic, so i had to get a fair amount done through a garage, but over the last 18 months i have i learned so much and I'm getting a little braver every time. 

So the plan is to drive it for a few years while im working on my house and spending time with my young family, then as money improves i will get the bodywork completely restored. The problem is, how to i style it..........

With my 1993 Mini it didn't matter, although it was a 1275 it was only a mayfair so i could do anything i wanted to it. This time I'm really struggling if i should keep it stock or customised. I love the look of the sport pack and its what i always wanted, but i also love MK1 gilles and rear lights, custom wheels and mirrors......... I especially love the David Brown Mini and i appreciate its not to everyones taste.

I had started customising but then my wife brought me a Corgie Model of my Mini and i though - This looks so cool, am i doing the right thing taking it away from the stock look, or should i put it back to stock and keep the genuine Cooper Sports Pack style. After all, it is a fairly rare colour for a Cooper - I've only ever seen one other like it. 

So what did you decide and what influenced you to style your Mini how you did? 

Attached Files

• Attached File  8.jpg   63.73K   3 downloads
  • Attached File  1.jpg   96.1K   3 downloads
  • Attached File  3.jpg   74.12K   2 downloads
  • Attached File  2.jpg   91.49K   4 downloads
  • Attached File  s-l1600.jpg   41.83K   5 downloads