5 replies to this topic

#1 marshn0138

marshn0138

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 August 2019 - 05:23 PM

My car is a 2000 reg MPI sportspack which i have owned for a couple of  months and used intermittently for a few hundred miles. 

The car seems to drive ok with no issues with the engine or gearbox and no strange noises. 

When I changed the oil this weekend I found a piece of brass / bronze in the dirty oil. I think there may have been another smaller piece which i didn't quite catch when trying to filter the oil out. The old  oil was quite dirty and may not have been changed recently. Obviously I have no knowledge of how long these fragments may have been in the sump

The car seems to drive ok with no issues with the engine or gearbox and no strange noises. 

I have included a couple of pictures to see if anyone can identify what they might be and suggestions on what to do next. I have some mechanical skills but would probably need to get any work done by someone else if the engine needs to come out.

Attached File  mini sump 2.JPG   62.73K   2 downloads

Attached File  mini sump1.JPG   67.44K   2 downloads

There was a similar posting in 2010 where there seemed to be an opinion it was part of the differential

#2 whistler

whistler

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,703 posts

Posted 05 August 2019 - 06:47 PM

Looks like it could be part of a selector fork.

#3 DeadSquare

DeadSquare

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,748 posts
  • Local Club: Unipower GT Owners Club

Posted 05 August 2019 - 06:56 PM

My car is a 2000 reg MPI sportspack which i have owned for a couple of  months and used intermittently for a few hundred miles.