7 replies to this topic

#1 MiniMacPS

MiniMacPS

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 August 2019 - 06:02 PM

Attached File  Mini Noise (online-audio-converter.com).mp3   277.06K   29 downloads

Hi all, 

I am fairly new to the mini world and i have had my MPI 1998 Paul Smith for around 6 months now. Only over the last couple of weeks there is a new sound coming from the engine bay (more accurately the gearbox). I have attached a link to this for you to listen to. I am having the engine out at the end of September for a re-bore as i have some blue smoke out of the back and my white garage door has some good oil splattering on it now. 

Is anyone able to let me know what they believe the whining sound is? And from there, should I still be driving it (only for 2 more days as a daily as my wife gets a new car on Friday)? 

Cheers. 

Edited by MiniMacPS, 13 August 2019 - 06:30 PM.

#2 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,885 posts
  • Name: Neil

Posted 13 August 2019 - 06:04 PM

No link attached!!!

#3 MiniMacPS

MiniMacPS

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 August 2019 - 06:31 PM

No link attached!!!

The file type i had didn't work, all sorted now! 

#4 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,885 posts
  • Name: Neil

Posted 13 August 2019 - 07:08 PM

Clutch release bearing maybe?? does the noise go away when you depress the clutch??

#5 MiniMacPS

MiniMacPS

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 August 2019 - 07:14 PM

Clutch release bearing maybe?? does the noise go away when you depress the clutch??

It does, and if you dip the clutch yet remain in the same gear on occasions it will stop and be fine (until you change up into 3rd for example). 

#6 MiniMacPS

MiniMacPS

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 August 2019 - 07:52 PM