Photo

Body Work Questions, A Few I Need Answering?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dandyer1995

Dandyer1995

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted 14 August 2019 - 03:16 PM

Afternoon All,

Apologies in advance for some fairly newbie questions for most but i'm fairly new to Mini's and this is my first resto project.

My Mini is almost fully stripped down now and in the next few weeks will need to start bodywork after getting some rather sobering quotes from shops (understandably). I have a few questions however that I can't seem to find answers too?

1) What should i use to strip back filler, paint and years of rubbish on the panels so i can see the extent of the damage? was thinking of using something like a paint stripper or is it best to sand back with a Disk? So far I've been using a drill and poly disk but have just ordered some flap disks for my Angle grinder?

2)Once onto my jig is there a golden rule for order of panels to be cut out and re istalled? i'll be bracing the car as per other guides but will need to replace boot floor, wheel tubs, companion box's, back half of floor and maybe full rear qtr's depending on the extent of the rot. I know i can't cut have the car on the jig all all of those panels off and there won't be anything to mount the jig to at the back. My initial thought was to do the Rear Qtr's first then floor the wheel tubs and boot? Also if anyone knows of a bible for all this stuff i'll be greatful! 

3) I don't have power at my garage (it gets better i know). so i will need to run a welder off a Generator? anyone else done this or doing this and know of certian things to look out for? i know obviously a mig welder that's 13a not 16a etc.

cheers in advance for the help. 

#2 Dr s

Dr s

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts

Posted 14 August 2019 - 06:40 PM