Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Easysteer Power Steering Help!


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Alice Dooper

Alice Dooper

    Speeding Along Now

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Location: Co. Antrim
  • Local Club: Minis in Northern Ireland

Posted 17 October 2019 - 11:55 AM

Hi,

 

I bought the easysteer kit for an MPI to help a disabled driver.  The kit is very good and the guys at easysteer great but I've had a few problems and need some expert advice.

 

The kit just won't work.  So far I've -

* Bench tested it with a good battery and a power supply.

* Tested it in the car with the bench power supply, a fresh battery and the cars own power with the engine both on and off.

* Remade and tested all my own connections

* Checked all the wiring and the continuity and voltages are good except theres no output to the motor.

* Ran a fresh set of power feeds in the car (it takes a high amp direct feed and a low power feed for an internal relay off a switched circuit).

* All earths everywhere are fine.

* The ECU for the steering powers up and the relay inside it clicks on as should.

* Bench tested the motor and reversed polarity to check it runs both direction just as it should.

* Returned the kit for bench testing and they got it to work and sent me a video of the test. (were very nice and helpful)

* I replicated the bench test, made a video of it and sent it to easysteer and they said I did everything right but still it won't work.

 

It's based on a Corsa B/C system with an extra small control box and variable resistor.  The steering column is a modified MPI column with the Corsa torque sensor / motor mount inserted connecting to the steering rack by universal joints.  The quality of the parts is very good and I'm impressed with the kit.

 

We are at a loss and I really want to make the kit work, has anyone any ideas please?

 

Attached Files



#2 Icey

Icey

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,171 posts
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 17 October 2019 - 12:19 PM

Could you just add which of your tests failed/succeeded? I'm trying to follow what you have done that's work and what hasn't but it's not immediately clear.



#3 Alice Dooper

Alice Dooper

    Speeding Along Now

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Location: Co. Antrim
  • Local Club: Minis in Northern Ireland

Posted 17 October 2019 - 04:49 PM

Could you just add which of your tests failed/succeeded? I'm trying to follow what you have done that's work and what hasn't but it's not immediately clear.


1) checked power was getting to the ecu, there’s 2 circuits, low and high. Both were all good.
2) checked the motor by direct connection, polarity reversed and rechecked - all good.
3) checked the variable resistor - resistance varies properly.
4) easysteer bench tested ithe complete kit by wiring it up on a bench with a small power supply and it worked. They sent me a video to show how they wired it.
5) I replicated the bench test with a car battery and then a bench power supply and both failed. I made a video and easysteer said that I had done everything correctly.
6) when the ECU is powered up, the relay in it works as should.
7) there is no voltage going to the motor when tested using any method.

I don’t have a wiring diagram for either the corsa ECU/ torque sensor / motor or for the add on box with the variable resistor.

Thanks

#4 cal844

cal844

    Crazy About Mini's

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,847 posts
  • Location: Ballingry, Fife
  • Local Club: TFMOC

Posted 17 October 2019 - 05:14 PM

The corsa c wiring diagram is available online. I'm also a member of a corsa C forum so I can try find out more if you need

#5 sledgehammer

sledgehammer

    Up Into Fourth

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,996 posts
  • Location: I'm sittin here besides my self

Posted 17 October 2019 - 08:35 PM

slightly off subject -

 

how are they detecting vehicle speed (assuming it's speed sensing)
 

on most modern cars it's a pulse from the ABS or BCM
 

just wondering if it has an adaptor on the speedo cable 


Edited by sledgehammer, 17 October 2019 - 08:37 PM.


#6 Icey

Icey

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,171 posts
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 17 October 2019 - 09:14 PM

slightly off subject -
 
how are they detecting vehicle speed (assuming it's speed sensing)
 
on most modern cars it's a pulse from the ABS or BCM
 
just wondering if it has an adaptor on the speedo cable

It won't, that's what the variable resistor is for. It'll be attached to, possibly something as simple as a 555 timer circuit which will generate a pulse mimicking the vehicle speed sensor/ECU output. 

 

If you've confirmed that all connections are good and you have them wired as per the manufacturers instructions, the only thing that jumps out is that either your battery isn't as healthy as it seems and/or your bench supply isn't sufficient to run the system. That's a complete guess, but it's either something really simple (i.e. a missed pin-out/connection) or there is a fundamental problem with the kit. Hopefully it's the former! Just one quick thought - while bench testing, have you attached a -ve connection to a few points on the body of the column/controller and motor?


Edited by Icey, 17 October 2019 - 09:14 PM.


#7 Alice Dooper

Alice Dooper

    Speeding Along Now

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Location: Co. Antrim
  • Local Club: Minis in Northern Ireland

Posted 18 October 2019 - 02:11 PM

The corsa c wiring diagram is available online. I'm also a member of a corsa C forum so I can try find out more if you need

That would be brilliant thanks.  I'd be able trace everything on the bench then.  I'm still not convinced that theres something up with the torque sensor in the column.



#8 Alice Dooper

Alice Dooper

    Speeding Along Now

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Location: Co. Antrim
  • Local Club: Minis in Northern Ireland

Posted 18 October 2019 - 02:20 PM

 

slightly off subject -
 
how are they detecting vehicle speed (assuming it's speed sensing)
 
on most modern cars it's a pulse from the ABS or BCM
 
just wondering if it has an adaptor on the speedo cable

It won't, that's what the variable resistor is for. It'll be attached to, possibly something as simple as a 555 timer circuit which will generate a pulse mimicking the vehicle speed sensor/ECU output. 

 

If you've confirmed that all connections are good and you have them wired as per the manufacturers instructions, the only thing that jumps out is that either your battery isn't as healthy as it seems and/or your bench supply isn't sufficient to run the system. That's a complete guess, but it's either something really simple (i.e. a missed pin-out/connection) or there is a fundamental problem with the kit. Hopefully it's the former! Just one quick thought - while bench testing, have you attached a -ve connection to a few points on the body of the column/controller and motor?

 

1) Yes, the  the variable resistor is the only thing that regulates the level of assistance.  There are several kits out there that add a hall effect sensor somewhere on the drivetrain and I did some other electrical jobs on an MPI that had a sensor on the speedometer cable - it didn't seem to work properly.  I'd prefer a speed sensitive kit, however the Easysteer one that I bought uses a MUCH smaller electric motor thats a LOT neater and clears big feet on the pedals.  Unfortunately it can't be used with a speed sensitive controller.

 

2) I had the same thought about my bench supply not pushing out enough amperage, thats why I refitted it into the car and tested it with the engine / alternator working.  I didn't try adding anymore earthing points to the column on the bench, Easysteer didn't on their video.  I'll give it a go.  In the car, the column should have been grounded via the column mounting bolt, the other end going through the steering wrack probably wouldn't have a reliable earth.

 

Mystified I am.



#9 jaysmini1983

jaysmini1983

    Mini Mad

  • Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Location: bristol
  • Local Club: West Country Mini's

Posted 18 October 2019 - 02:20 PM

i have a simular kit to fit to my mini. i struggled to bench test mine. one time it works the next it doesnt. i think you would be best to fit the steering wheel and then the torque sensor will feel your pressure while trying to turn the wheel. 

i plan to fit mine over the winter and hoping it will work, a least if fitted fully changing the ecu/torque sensor or motor is very easy. 



#10 Alice Dooper

Alice Dooper

    Speeding Along Now

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Location: Co. Antrim
  • Local Club: Minis in Northern Ireland

Posted 18 October 2019 - 02:34 PM

i have a simular kit to fit to my mini. i struggled to bench test mine. one time it works the next it doesnt. i think you would be best to fit the steering wheel and then the torque sensor will feel your pressure while trying to turn the wheel. 

i plan to fit mine over the winter and hoping it will work, a least if fitted fully changing the ecu/torque sensor or motor is very easy. 

Sounds like I'm not the only one then.

 

On the Easysteer video, they had the rack end of the column clamped in a vice and using a pair of vice grips only needed small pressure to activate the kit. When they seen my video, I had used vice grips on both ends and put quite a bit of torque on it, they thought that I shouldn't need anywhere near that level of force.

 

I'm planning to bench it again and hopefully go over everything if I can get a circuit diagram, then I'll car try it again but with the steering wheel on.

 

Thanks.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Mini Spares