16 replies to this topic

#1 Benoit_Dupont

Benoit_Dupont

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 291 posts

Posted 05 November 2019 - 10:49 PM

So here is the story: the other day, I found in a garage sale a vintage moto-lita (probably genuine, but not sure), that was mounted on a Triumph Vitesse in the late 60's. it came with a Triumph center cap. I'm not an expert in Triumph so, I don't know if it was an option at the time, my bet is that it's an after market of some sort.

the wheel was in terrible condition, but I thought it could be a good idea to learn and practice how to remake a steering wheel. here is how it looked like when I bought it: >_<

Attached File  IMG_20191101_215618_271.jpg   57.32K   3 downloads

the leather is completely coocked, and falls appart just by looking at it with a mean face. but the rest seem to be in good shape. so I scrapped the leather, and peeled off the rubber/foam that covers it. here is how it looked like:

Attached File  IMG_20191101_215618_273.jpg   61.13K   3 downloads

after a few hours of polishing and gentle sanding of the most corroded parts, I ended up with somethink like that:

Attached File  IMG_20191101_215618_272.jpg   56.82K   3 downloads

it's shinny again and I could remove most of the scratch using 1000 sanding paper.

Attached File  IMG_-5i4q11.jpg   33.32K   3 downloads

the foam was in decent condition, so I cleaned it and glued it again. it's more tricky than it sounds: indeed if the ends of the rubber do not exactly match, it will be visible with through the leather. any irregularities will do. so be careful if you do it. wrap it good so it stays in place.

Attached File  IMG_20191102_115710-W900.jpg   75.24K   3 downloads

Another tricky part is the width of leather you have to cut:

if it's too long, the wheel will feel squishy.