Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

What Is This Button?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 KnightOwl738

KnightOwl738

    Learner Driver

  • Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Location: East Midlands

Posted 03 January 2020 - 11:01 AM

Does anyone know what this button does? I've pressed it whilst driving and no brakes are applied and it doesn't engage the ejector seat.

Attached Files



#2 MiddletoM

MiddletoM

    On The Road

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Location: Arlesey

Posted 03 January 2020 - 11:02 AM

is it the brake fluid check test button? If you press it the button should light up which shows the system is functioning. If its lit up without pressing it means your brake fluid is low.



#3 MikeRotherham

MikeRotherham

    Super Mini Mad

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 512 posts
  • Location: South Yorkshire

Posted 03 January 2020 - 11:33 AM

As above it lights up when the brake fluid is low.

 

The switch is just to test that the bulb is operational.



#4 Vinay-RS

Vinay-RS

    Put's foolish ideas in peoples heads

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,904 posts
  • Location: Cape Town

Posted 03 January 2020 - 11:41 AM

Can you still buy the switch for the master cylinder? The switch in my car is plugged (as I'm guessing the sensor broke at some point in the past) 



#5 MiddletoM

MiddletoM

    On The Road

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Location: Arlesey

Posted 03 January 2020 - 01:34 PM

Can you still buy the switch for the master cylinder? The switch in my car is plugged (as I'm guessing the sensor broke at some point in the past) 

The "Switch" is just a float switch integrated into the master cylinder cap. 

 

http://minispares.co...|Back to search



#6 Ethel

Ethel

    ..is NOT a girl!

  • TMF Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,210 posts
  • Local Club: none

Posted 03 January 2020 - 02:53 PM

There was a pressure differential shuttle valve on the first dual circuit master cylinders. I think the wiring connector was  more difficult to source than the switch itself. You could try adding a cap with the float instead, but wiring it in is a little different.



#7 KnightOwl738

KnightOwl738

    Learner Driver

  • Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Location: East Midlands

Posted 03 January 2020 - 10:23 PM

Thanks guys for the comments.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Mini Spares