#1 Chris1275gt

Chris1275gt

One Carb Or Two?

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 796 posts

Posted 08 January 2020 - 11:55 AM

Hi
Any one used a colortune plug as an aid to get the mixture correct? I'm new to engines and carburettors and struggling a bit to get my ears accustomed to the sounds of exhaust and engine noises.

#2 luismx123

luismx123

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 525 posts

Posted 08 January 2020 - 12:26 PM

does help if you have no clue what is right/wrong. Once you learn a mini you get a feeling for the idle. It does kind of help for higher rpms just to get a sense of whats going on inside but its a different story checking your mixture at high rpms whilst driving or stand still :/
If youre new to it, id get one. You learn a bit and it helps you develop your mini-senses ;)

#3 mercenary62

mercenary62

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 359 posts
  • Local Club: mini clan

Posted 08 January 2020 - 01:17 PM

ive had a colourtune for years bought in the seventies ,still going strong ,a usefull piece of kit

#4 unburntfuelinthemorning

unburntfuelinthemorning

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,914 posts

Posted 08 January 2020 - 02:43 PM

Colourtune can't lie to you.

#5 DeadSquare

DeadSquare

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,756 posts
  • Local Club: Unipower GT Owners Club

Posted 08 January 2020 - 02:49 PM

Getting the mixture correct, having fitted a supercharger is not straightforward.

I find a colourtune most useful.

I insert the coulortune in number 4 plug, remove the bonnet and fix a shaving mirror in such a way that I can observe the coulortune while driving at night under a veriety of conditions, and while stationary, I can adjust the carb setting as indicated.

#6 DeadSquare

DeadSquare

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • 2,756 posts
  • Local Club: Unipower GT Owners Club

Posted 08 January 2020 - 02:50 PM